bionrescue.blogg.se

Macbook air media server
Macbook air media server









  1. Macbook air media server movie#
  2. Macbook air media server pro#
  3. Macbook air media server tv#

In the HandBrake settings you can choose to have files sent to a metadata filling app once they’ve been ripped.

Macbook air media server tv#

dvdmedia files, and let it encode a batch of movies (into m4v using the Apple TV 3 setting) while I’m sleeping. This meant I could just load up the Handbrake queue with all the ripped.m4v file I could basically rip 3 DVDs to disk while HandBrake was encoding one.

Macbook air media server movie#

Since HandBrake takes nearly 90 minutes to encode a movie into an.I plugged in an external hard drive and ripped the DVDs to there. This app copies over the whole disk in under 30 minutes as a. Here’s the workflow I finally landed with (thanks to several awesome readers who sent suggestions in): Since I was only converting 30-some-odd DVDs, I chose not to go crazy with the automation scripts. You can set up cron jobs and hazel rules to automate the whole process from DVD to iTunes, you can do everything manually, or somewhere in between. If you’ve ever set up your own media server, you know there is more than one way to go about it. Setting up the Media Server was a topic of one or two Shawn Today episodes, and I received a lot of feedback from folks who’ve been down this road before. After which I had to add the file to iTunes, go online and find artwork, add the artwork, then tell iTunes the movie’s media kind was “Movie” and not “Home Video”. It took about 90 minutes to convert the DVD into an.

Macbook air media server pro#

I set the MacBook Pro up on the edge of my desk, and began ripping DVDs with HandBrake. I then changed the name of the Mac from “Shawn Blanc’s MacBook Pro” to “Media Server”, and installed HandBrake, Hazel, LaunchBar, 1Password, and Dropbox in order to start getting around. The whole process of downloading and installing, and then erasing and installing again took about 3 hours.

macbook air media server

Ripping DVDsįirst things first, I backed up the MacBook Pro, updated it to Mountain Lion, and then did a clean install. Below are more details on how I went about ripping my DVD collection into iTunes and how I’m using Hazel and Dropbox to enable some workflows on my iOS devices. Printopia and Mail.app are pretty self explanatory.

  • Run Dropbox and Hazel so I can do things like upload audio to my Amazon S3 server from my iPhone, rename and move pictures of receipts, and more.
  • Host video and audio files so we can put our box of DVDs in the attic, and access the movies directly from the Apple TV.
  • macbook air media server

    This helps keep emails out of my iPhone’s inbox that shouldn’t be there in the first place.

  • Let Mail.app run 24/7 so that certain sorting and filing rules are executed at all times, not just when my MacBook Air is on.
  • Run Printopia to enable AirPrinting on our non-AirPrint printer (Nerd score: 4/10).
  • The screen shows random red lines and flickers - it’s just bad enough that she can’t use it on a daily basis, but still good enough that I could repurpose it into our new file and media server.Īll in all, the tasks I’ve assigned to my Mac Media server include: I’m glad I never bit the bullet and bought a Mac mini, because about a month ago the video card on my wife’s MacBook Pro started going out. A nerdy, tedious, somewhat overrated, great idea.įor years I was wanting to convert all my DVDs (where by “all” I mean a whopping 35) into digital versions which could be accessible via my Apple TV. Repurposing an old Mac into a home media server is a great idea.











    Macbook air media server